Financial Information

Total Assets: $967,738,000 Total Giving: $101,862,000

Area of Service:


Areas of Interest:

Not Available


Goal: Greater Boston neighborhoods and communities are vibrant, safe and affordable
Goal: Greater Boston residents are successful and thriving
Program-Related Investment


The following grants were awarded in 2017: Cotuit Federated Church, Cotuit, Massachusetts – $5,000
Episcopal Church in Navajo Land Farmington, New Mexico – $13,000
American Baptist Churches of Massachusetts, Groton, Massachusetts – $15,000
Central Congregational Church of Newburyport, Massachusetts, $20,000
Saint George Antiochian Orthodox Church, West Roxbury, Massachusetts – $2,500


Giving from discretionary funds limited to the greater Boston, MA, area.

No support for religious purposes, city or state government agencies or departments, private schools, municipalities, or national or international programs.

No grants to individuals, or for scientific or academic research, books or articles, films, radio, or television programs, equipment, travel, endowments, scholarships, fellowships, conferences, or symposia or capital campaigns.


As Greater Boston’s community foundation, the Boston Foundation devotes its resources to building and sustaining a vital, prosperous city and region, where justice and opportunity are extended to everyone.


Established in 1915 in MA by agreement and declaration of trust; incorporated in 1917; merged with Victory Supermarkets Charitable Foundation in 2004; merged with The Philanthropic Initiative in 2011

Quick Facts Sheet

Located in:

Boston ,


United States

Contact Information / Process

Telephone: (617) 338-1700
Fax: (617) 338-1604
E-mail: [email protected]
75 Arlington St., 10th Fl. Boston, MA United States 02116-3936

Donors & Leadership

Officers and Board Members:
Paul S. Grogan C.E.O. and Pres. and Director
Sandra Edgerley Chair. and Dir.
Linda Mason Vice-Chair. and Dir.
Stephen Chan V.P., Strategy and Opers.
Kate Guedj V.P. and Chief Philanthropy Off.
Timothy B. Gassert Secy.
Alfred F. Van Ranst, Jr.C.F.O. and Treas.
George C. Wilson C.I.O.
Rosalyn Bonaventure Cont.
Michael Eisenson
Grace Fey
Paul C. Gannon
Dr. Gregory Groover
Jackie Jenkins-Scott
Paul W. Lee
Myechia Minter-Jordan
Peter Nessen
Ron O’Hanley
Rosalin Acosta
Zamawa Arenas
Greg Shell
Andrew G. Arnott
Brian Conway
Keith Motley
Scott E. Squillace, Esq.
Orlando C. Watkins V.P., Progs.